<!-- TITLE: How to add and remove users -->
<!-- DESCRIPTION: Students and teachers in the TeachCenter are normally synchronised automatically with TUGRAZonline, both for regular courses and exams. -->
<!-- LANG: en -->
<!-- URL: https://telucation.tugraz.at/en/guides/add-remove-users/ -->
<!-- URL_DE: https://telucation.tugraz.at/anleitungen/nutzerinnen-hinzufuegen-und-entfernen/ -->
<!-- URL_EN: https://telucation.tugraz.at/en/guides/add-remove-users/ -->
<!-- TYPE: guide -->
<!-- ICON: settings -->
<!-- PUBLISHED: 2022-02-14 -->
<!-- UPDATED: 2024-05-15 -->

# How to add and remove users

*Students and teachers in the TeachCenter are normally synchronised automatically with TUGRAZonline, both for regular courses and exams.*

*Published: 14 February 2022 · Updated: 15 May 2024*

In certain cases, participants must be manually enrolled in the TeachCenter course. You can also remove these people from the course or extend their enrolment.

## Automatically adding users to the course

## Who automatically gets access to a course?

[In the TeachCenter:](https://tc.tugraz.at/) Teachers, tutors and students who are registered for the course in TUGRAZonline are automatically imported and do not have to be added manually.

[In the TeachCenter Exam:](https://exam.tugraz.at/) Examiners and students who are registered for the exam in TUGRAZonline are automatically synchronised and do not have to be added manually.

## When does the automatic synchronisation take place?

The automatic synchronisation in the TeachCenter and TeachCenter Exam takes place once every 24 hours, always at night. **If you register for the course or exam today, you will not have access to the TeachCenter course until tomorrow!**

In special cases (e.g. if students register for the exam at short notice and would not be imported to the TeachCenter until the next day), **synchronisation can also be triggered manually** at any time. See the next point for step-by-step instructions.

## How to start the synchronisation process on demand

Sometimes it is necessary to start the automatic synchronisation at a time other than at night.

Example: A student has registered for at short notice and is registered in TUGRAZonline, but not yet in the TeachCenter.

In this case, the **synchronisation can be started manually by teachers** (not by tutors!). To do this, go to the main menu – **More** **–** **Synchronisation.**

Click **Synchronise all** to start the process. You will see a notification that the synchronisation has been queued. You can leave this page.

![Synchronisation menu with info when last sync took place and buttons preview and synchronise all](https://telucation.tugraz.at/_app/immutable/assets/en-01-bildschirmfoto-2024-05-15-um-10-30-59.CSfDi6MS.png)

*Menu to start synchronisation*

![Info text that synchronisation is queued](https://telucation.tugraz.at/_app/immutable/assets/en-02-bildschirmfoto-2024-05-15-um-10-31-05.oV9IACTC.png)

*Info text that synchronisation is queued*

In the **Preview**, you can check who would be enrolled in the course if you started the synchronisation.

## Manually adding users to the course

## Who needs to be enrolled manually?

People **who are not registered in TUGRAZonline for the course or exam (and cannot be registered) but need access to the course** must be registered manually. This concerns, for example:

- Students who need the materials and can no longer be registered for the course
- Tutors who are not registered as such in TUGRAZonline
- Secretaries and heads of institutes

## How to manually enroll someone

All teachers in a TeachCenter course can enrol other people. Tutors do not have this right.

To add a person manually (e.g. individual students from previous semesters, institute secretaries):

- Click on **Participants** in the main menu at the top.

![The participants menu in the main menu is selected](https://telucation.tugraz.at/_app/immutable/assets/en-03-bildschirmfoto-2023-07-17-um-13-18-18.Nrew6eCZ.png)

*Participants menu is located in the main menu*

- Click on **Enrol users** at the top.

![Button to enrol users in the participants menu](https://telucation.tugraz.at/_app/immutable/assets/en-04-bildschirmfoto-2023-07-17-um-13-24-03.BJyJkcie.png)

*Enrol users button in the participants menu*

- Select the desired role (e.g. teacher) in the following menu via **Assign role.**
- Search for the person by typing their name or e-mail. You can also search for more than one person and then add them all together.
- Click **Enrol** **users**. Repeat this process as often as you like.

![Enrolment options such as selecting the role and enrolling a student](https://telucation.tugraz.at/_app/immutable/assets/en-05-bildschirmfoto-2023-07-17-um-13-24-38.CLFgsAHx.png)

*Set enrolment options such as the role*

Manually enrolled users **remain enrolled in the course for one year for data protection and copyright reasons** and are then automatically removed unless their enrolment is renewed.

## Unenrolling users from a course

## Unenrolling automatically synced users

Persons who are registered for the course in TUGRAZonline are **automatically removed from the TeachCenter course when the semester changes.** The date of the semester change is always communicated via the [TeachCenter FAQ](https://tugraz.at/go/faq-tc) and on the TeachCenter dashboard.

TeachCenter Exam courses will be **deleted 6 months after the exam** and all users will thus lose access.

If a person who was automatically synchronised from TUGRAZonline **deregisters from the course or exam in TUGRAZonline, this person is also automatically removed** from the respective TeachCenter course.

## Unenrolling manually synced users

Manually enrolled users are **automatically removed after one year, but can also be removed manually earlier.**

- Click on **Participants** in the main menu at the top.
- Search for the user.
- Click on the **red trashcan symbol** on the far right of the user you want to unenrol.

![The trashcan icon next to a participant in the participants menu is marked; you can unenrol someone there](https://telucation.tugraz.at/_app/immutable/assets/en-06-bildschirmfoto-2023-07-17-um-13-19-22.DHnXC5rs.png)

*Unenrolling a user from the participants menu*

- Confirm the unenrolment by clicking on **Unenrol**.

## Frequently asked questions about enrolment

## How to enrol someone for more than a year

For data protection and copyright reasons, **manually enrolled users always have access for one year from the date of enrolment.** If necessary, you can extend the enrolment.

- Click on **Participants** in the main menu at the top.
- Search for the user using the letter or text filters.
- Click on the **gear symbol** on the far right of the user in question.

![The gear icon next to a user in the participants menu is marked; you can edit an enrolment there](https://telucation.tugraz.at/_app/immutable/assets/en-07-bildschirmfoto-2023-07-17-um-13-19-53.CBPdIlqn.png)

*Edit the enrolment duration from the participants menu*

- Select a **new enrolment end date** (e.g. the last day of the semester).
- Click on **Save changes** to confirm.

![Editing someone's enrolment to prolong it, there is a dropdown to choose a new end date](https://telucation.tugraz.at/_app/immutable/assets/en-08-bildschirmfoto-2023-07-17-um-13-23-50.BSn-I4wT.png)

*Setting a new end of enrolment date*

Users who are synchronised via TUGRAZonline can, for example, **register again for the course in the following semester** and thus continue to have access to the TeachCenter course.

## Can our secretary get access to our institute’s courses?

Generally yes, with the consent of the teachers or the head of the institute.

To give secretaries access to individual courses, **manually enrol them in the course** or add them in TUGRAZonline.

To give secretaries **automatic access to all current and future courses of the institute,** contact [TeachCenter support](mailto:tc@tugraz.at) (include approval by the head of the institute). The support team can create a special enrolment so that this person has editing rights in all courses of the institute and is also automatically added as soon as a new course is created for the institute.

## Help & contact

For questions on TeachCenter / TeachCenter Exam: [tc@tugraz.at](mailto:tc@tugraz.at)
